In the wild state

The crew got to discover corn in its natural form today, and it was a major hit. Giles was especially happy, given that he was the only rat on Playstation West, so he didn’t have to share.

Theo gets into the corn, fast.
Theo gets into the corn, fast.
Beatrice and Artemis dig into the corn in one of the drawers on Playstation East.
Beatrice and Artemis dig into the corn in one of the drawers on Playstation East.
Giles, in natural corn heaven on Playstation West.
Giles, in natural corn heaven on Playstation West.
Giles knows a good thing when he tastes it.
Giles knows a good thing when he tastes it.
Gytha and Artemis in another drawer on Playstation East.
Gytha and Artemis in another drawer on Playstation East.

 

11 thoughts on “In the wild state

  1. Do they eat the corn cooked or raw? I confess I hadn’t really thought about it until now. :D

  2. I expect they would eat it in any state, but for these guys I cook it lightly – boil it for 2 and one half minutes, then cool it down. They just got four more cobs today. They are most impressed with corn this way.

  3. It’s food and a bit of a challenge since they need to gnaw it off the cob.

    I’m sure it’s just a holdover from childhood, but corn on the cob is still a treat for me and Dave. We both think it tastes better that way. He eats his with bacon grease (just like his mom always did). I eat mine with butter (just like we did when I was growing up).

  4. It is better on the cob – fresher and sweeter. One of the nice things about living here is getting free corn, fresh picked off the stalk. Unbelievably good, that. The rats are partial to peaches and cream, the cobs with yellow and white niblets. Very sweet.

  5. Hi, Caine! Everything ok with you? I’ve been silent, but I still check regularly here to see how Giles and the other rats are doing. :)

    Giles looks absolutely delighted. Give him scritches for me.

  6. Hallo, Nightjar! I’ve been thinking about you lately, glad to see you again. Everything is okay here, and with you? I’ll give Giles his scritches when he wakes up, and yes, he was most pleased with corn on the cob. :D

  7. I’m fine, although right now I’m dealing with the death of a cat I rescued some months ago and was trying to rehabilitate. He was a very sweet and friendly cat and seemed grateful for all the love and protection he was receiving, but unfortunately we had to euthanise him this Monday. I tried my best, but saving a immunocompromised cat dealing with a bone infection (the vet suspects he got caught on some kind of fox trap which injured and infected his bone) was simply not possible. I knew from the start that this was the most likely scenario given the condition I found him in, but it was still very hard to say goodbye and I tear up every now and then.

    But apart from that everything is okay, lots of work in the lab and not much time to follow Pharyngula, but maybe one of these days you’ll see me around over there again. I’m already working on getting back to and catching up with Moblog at the moment, so maybe Pharyngula will be the next step…

  8. Oh no. I’m so sorry, I know all too well how those sorts of rescues go. It never stops the tears, but it’s important to remember that the very last thing they knew was love and care and comfort.

    Glad you’re keeping busy with work, but hey, a person needs to sink their fangs in once a while, too! It would be great to see you around Pharyngula again.

  9. Thank you. It was love and care and comfort instead of hunger and pain and coldness (it was Winter, he was wet and shivering) as it would have been if I hadn’t found him. I can take some comfort in that.

Leave a Reply

